Home » Articles » My Side of the Mountain Trilogy

My Side of the Mountain Trilogy

My Side of the Mountain Trilogy

Buy at Amazon

In 1959, Jean Craighead George published My Side of the Mountain. This coming-of-age story about a boy and his falcon went on to win a Newbery Honor, and for the past forty years has enthralled and entertained generations of would-be Sam Gribleys.

The two books that followed–On the Far Side of the Mountain and Frightful’s Mountain–were equally extraordinary. Now all three books are available in one deluxe yet affordable volume for veteran devotees and brand-new fans alike.

Before this I had no idea this was a trilogy.  Because of this my childhood was less.  Honestly, this book probably was the greatest literary influence of my childhood.  I am waiting patiently until I can read My Side of the Mountain with my son.

I can’t say I would be as open to WT moving to the mountains alone, but that may be because of his mother.

Jean Craighead George was the preeminent nature writer for children. She is the author of My Side of the Mountain and Julie of the Wolves, and her work spanned 50 years. She died in May 2012 at age 93.  I am interested in self reliance in large part to her work.

Leave a Reply